Prestigious awards recognise outstanding leadership in veterinary technology and veterinary science

12 Oct 2017
Professor McGowan receives his award from Dr Mandy Burrows, president of the Australian and New Zealand College of Veterinary Scientists.

A UQ School of Veterinary Science expert in emergency, critical care, anaesthesia and analgesia, and one of Australia’s most foremost cattle researchers have been honoured at recent national and international events.

Acting Head of School Associate Professor Jenny Seddon congratulated staff members Trish Farry and Professor Michael McGowan who have received prestigious industry awards.

Trish Farry was awarded The Academy of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Technicians (AVECCT) Specialty Technician of the Year 2017 at the 22nd International Veterinary Emergency & Critical Care Symposium, Nashville, Tennessee.

“AVECCT is a global organisation and the certifying body which issues veterinary technicians their accreditation as specialists in emergency and critical care,” Dr Seddon said.

“Trish has been recognised as an AVECCT technician who has contributed to the advancement of veterinary medicine, demonstrated extraordinary leadership and impacted the field of veterinary technology through exceptional teaching and involvement.”

Trish Farry is an Australian certified veterinary nurse with specialist qualifications.   

A clinical instructor in anaesthesia, she co-coordinates the Bachelor of Veterinary Technology third year program. Her areas of teaching include small animal anaesthesia and analgesia and clinical practices for undergraduate veterinary and veterinary technology students.

Her professional roles have included the Board of Regents for the International Veterinary Academy of Pain Management, the Board of Directors for the Academy of Veterinary Technician Anesthetists and currently Immediate Past-President of AVECCT.

Dr Seddon also congratulated Professor Michael McGowan, who has been awarded the 2017 Ian Clunies Ross Memorial Award for outstanding and sustained commitment to Australia's cattle industries.

This prestigious award is made by the Australian and New Zealand College of Veterinary Scientists to a veterinarian making an outstanding contribution to veterinary science in Australia and New Zealand, especially during the preceding five years.  

Dr Seddon said the committee praised Professor McGowan's sustained and profound contribution to the development of Australia's northern beef industry.

“Michael's approach is to work with industry and develop solutions in partnership with producers; this has ensured his research outcomes are widely understood by producers, are adopted and have impact,” she said. 

“The award also reflected his teaching track record of over 30 years, and his leadership in livestock medicine education which has impacted on the curriculum and assessment approaches in national and international veterinary training programs.”

Professor McGowan is Professor of Livestock Medicine at UQ and Honorary Professor of Farm Animal Medicine and Surgery at The Royal Veterinary College, University of London.

Media: Associate Professor Jenny Seddon,, +61 7 54601 838; Trisha Farry,, +61 7 54601 788; or Professor Michael McGowan,, +61 7 54601 856.